A Comment On Msg. Board Rudeness

I am new to the message board and have only posted one question thus far, so I`ve not much experience here; however, I must say that I`m surprised at the rudeness to some of the responses that were posted not only to my question, but to others as well.

Does anyone monitor this board? Is it self-monitored?

The snide comments I could take, but when I reviewed several message threads I was outraged at the name-calling and pettiness. One respondee even went so far as to call another poster`s child a B_stard!

I have to wonder if this is the supportive environment that it was most likely intended to be.

If there isn`t a person monitoring this board, I would like to know if anyone else has come up with a method to deal with these comments. As I`ve said, I`ve only posted one question and instead of receiving the helpful advice/ sharing of ideas type support that I was looking for, I felt attacked and had to spend most of my time defending myself, which is ridiculous at best.

Any truly supportive or concerned suggestions welcome.

Others need not reply. I think I will be pretending that rude/offensive replies don`t exist from here on. Or, at least until someone suggests a better method.
Posted by Soapy; updated 09/17/04